Lakehurst Historical Society
The Borough of Lakehurst Historical Society maintains a collection of historical artifacts, books, pictures, and documents which provide a record of a rich history and which help to educate those who wish to learn about a sometimes unknown part of local lore.
Charred remnants of the dirigible Hindenburg, which crashed here in 1937, and items from the Navy's rigid airship program are always popular items to see when one visits the Society's Museum.
The Museum is located at 300 Center Street, in the oldest Roman Catholic Church in Ocean County, Old St. John's Church. The Church was built in 1874 by Irish Railroad workers. Old Church items are on display and are quite beautiful to see. An old cemetery surrounds the museum.
The Museum opened in July, 1993 with nearly 1,000 people on hand. People from many states and several foreign countries have come to view the items on display. It is managed by all volunteer workers.
The Museum also contains an old jail cell, fire department memorabilia, items and furnishings from the Pine Tree Inn, a 19th century music box, original paintings, and many other items relating to Lakehurst's past as a winter resort, early industrial community, and as the "Airship Capital of the World".
A small research area and library are also available to help people begin their journey through local history.
A beautiful Christmas display of old toys, as well as a number of seasonal and changing displays make the Museum a special place to return to several times a year.
The Museum is open on Wednesdays and Sundays from noon until 3:00. Special tours and small groups can be accommodated with prior notice.
For more information contact us at:
Lakehurst Historical Society Museum
300 Center Street
Lakehurst, New Jersey 08733